The primary pillars of Namibia’s economy include mining, fishing, agriculture and tourism. New future-oriented sectors, such as manufacturing, machinery, construction and finance, are growing at a rapid pace. In addition to Namibia’s traditional focus on exports to western Europe and the USA, its new alignment toward the regional markets in southern Africa harbours immense potential for all segments of the country’s economy.

Namibia offers optimal conditions for companies looking to invest and grow. The country’s government supports the modernisation of existing industries through tax and financial incentives, placing particular emphasis on economic diversification. These funding tools also benefit foreign companies that plan to establish new production facilities in Namibia or use the country as a jumping-off point for trade with southern Africa.


300 sunny days per year, diverse flora and fauna, and a vibrant culture are the factors attract nearly one million tourists to Namibia annually. Of all of the country’s economic sectors, tourism is growing the fastest. However, the promotion of mass tourism is not Namibia’s ultimate goal; rather, the country is cultivating upscale, environmentally friendly alternatives for holidaymakers.
The potential for tourism will soon be tapped in further regions around the country. For companies, the tourism sector offers countless opportunities for investment, such as in the construction and furnishing of luxurious lodges and Namibia’s typical ‘guest farms’. There is also significant demand for car rental companies, restaurants, sport and recreation facilities, and conference centres. The World Travel & Tourism Council predicts that Namibia will be among the 10 countries in the world whose tourism sectors will expand the fastest in coming years.



International studies attest to the fact that Namibia has one of the best transport infrastructure systems south of the Sahara. The country’s two important ports, Walvis Bay and Lüderitz, are connected to a system of asphalt roads and railway lines known as the Walvis Bay Corridors. These corridors direct the flow of goods inland from the coast, and then onward to neighbouring countries via the most direct routes possible. In this way, containers from the Port of Walvis Bay can travel to the industrial region of Gauteng in South Africa in just 48 hours, for instance. In practice, the Walvis Bay Corridors comprise a large regional market of approximately 300 million people.

The Walvis Bay Corridor Group (WBCG), a public-private partnership established in 2000, handles the logistics necessary for the efficient transport of goods. The organisation coordinates all transport routes throughout the Walvis Bay Corridors, standardises tariffs and guarantees that the required transport capacity is available. Port authorities, government agencies, haulage companies, railways and trade unions work hand-in-hand as part of the WBCG, providing suppliers and recipients with a central point of contact for any issues they may have. Currently, the Port of Walvis Bay is being expanded to include additional anchorage points and a new container terminal, which will increase the port’s cargo turnover capacity to 1.1 million TEU. The harbour’s premises will be expanded by 40 hectares, and the harbour basin will be made 14.4 metres deeper. Building on its successes, Namibia plans to carry out further infrastructure projects – and investors are encouraged to join in the process.



Namibia’s agriculture industry is export-oriented and still employs more people in the country than any other sector. Livestock farming dominates the field: The focus is on meat, dairy products, cow hides and pelts, sheep, and goats. The cultivation of fruit and vegetables is growing increasingly important; one prerequisite for creating additional areas cultivable land is constant artificial irrigation. To that end, the Namibian government launched the ‘Green Scheme’ initiative in 2003, which establishes a basis for converting a total area of 27,000 hectares into premium cultivable land.

Local, high-yield agricultural value creation forms the foundation for feeding the country’s population and producing profitable exports. For this reason, Namibia’s government hopes to attract investors to its agricultural sector with corresponding partnerships and joint ventures, as well as an increased transfer of knowledge and technology.



Namibia is one of the most resource-rich countries in Africa, with substantial reserves of strategic raw materials and minerals. The country’s goal is to process these raw materials locally to the greatest extent possible in order to increase local value creation. In addition to minerals, items such as fish, agricultural products, and indigenous plants used in the food and cosmetics industries are well suited for industrial processing. Namibia is also pushing ahead with the development of future-oriented industries; currently, the country is exploring a diverse range of new sectors, including machinery and cement manufacturing. The government provides numerous tax and financial incentives to support economic diversification – and these incentives also benefit foreign companies planning to establish a foothold in Namibia. For investors, conditions couldn’t be better.



Namibia – The New Manufacturing, Testing and Export Platform for Automotive Companies Serving the Dynamic Southern African and International Markets

Located within Africa’s leading automotive region and situated on the Atlantic shore of southern Africa, Namibia has caught the eye of investors from the automotive industry and continues to attract attention. Automotive companies find optimal and cost-effective conditions to set up their operations, establishing Namibia not only as a top location for automotive testing, but also as a promising new manufacturing and export platform.

Regional network of OEMs and automotive suppliers

Namibia is integrated into the dynamic regional network consisting of about 20 OEMs and more than 360 automotive component suppliers and specialized service providers. A growing Namibian supplier base is producing metal parts and off-road equipment, exporting, for example, components to OEMs in Europe and meeting the strong demand of the regional off-road market.

Dedicated automotive park

Automotive companies can start their operations in Namibia without delay by leasing modern production facilities at, for instance, the !Nara Namib Industrial Estate. Located in Walvis Bay, the brand new estate is part of Namibia’s broad portfolio of production facilities available to the automotive sector and can be customized to fit specific production processes.

Optimal conditions for automotive testing

Namibia is becoming a preferred location for automotive testing in hot, dry and sunny conditions. Low population and traffic density combined with excellent infrastructure are allowing OEMs to accumulate mileage safely and quickly at low visibility.

For more information (Presentation), please click > here <
For more information (Fact Sheet), please click > here <

Branchen

Hohe Bandbreite an Möglichkeiten

Namibias bedeutendste wirtschaftliche Säulen sind Bergbau, Fischerei, Landwirtschaft sowie der Tourismus. Rasant entwickeln sich zudem neue, zukunftsweisende Bereiche wie die verarbeitende Industrie, der Maschinenbau, die Baubranche und der Finanzsektor. Neben der traditionellen Orientierung auf den Export nach Westeuropa und die USA bietet die begonnene Fokussierung auf die regionalen Märkte im südlichen Afrika für alle Wirtschaftsbereiche immenses Potenzial.

Die Rahmenbedingungen für Unternehmen, die investieren und wachsen wollen, sind optimal. Mit steuerlichen und finanziellen Anreizen unterstützt die Regierung die Modernisierung bestehender Branchen und ganz besonders die wirtschaftliche Diversifikation. Diese Fördermaßnahmen kommen auch ausländischen Unternehmen zugute, die in Namibia neue Produktionsstandorte aufbauen wollen oder das Land als Sprungbrett für den Handel mit dem südlichen Afrika nutzen wollen.

Tourismus

Geld verdienen, wo andere Urlaub machen
300 Sonnentage im Jahr, eine artenreiche Natur und eine vielfältige Kultur locken jedes Jahr fast eine Mio. Touristen ins Land. Von allen Wirtschaftszweigen wächst der Tourismus am schnellsten. Dennoch strebt Namibia keinen Massentourismus an, sondern fördert hochwertige und ökologisch verträgliche Alternativen.
Weitere Regionen sollen touristisch erschlossen werden. Für Unternehmen bietet der Tourismus-Sektor zahlreiche Möglichkeiten zur Investition, z.B. bei Bau und Einrichtung von anspruchsvollen Lodges und der für Namibia typischen Gästefarmen. Großer Bedarf besteht auch für Autovermietungen, Restaurants, Sport- und Freizeitangebote, Gesundheits- und Erholungseinrichtungen und Konferenzzentren. In den Prognosen des World Travel & Tourism Council gehört Namibia zu den 10 Ländern der Welt, in denen der Tourismussektor am stärksten expandieren wird.

Namibia_Tourismus

Transport & Logistik

Fahrt aufnehmen in Richtung Erfolg
Internationale Studien bescheinigen Namibia eine der besten Verkehrsinfrastrukturen südlich der Sahara. Die beiden wichtigen Seehäfen Walvis Bay und Lüderitz sind an ein System von Asphaltstraßen und Bahnlinien, die Walvis Bay Corridors, angeschlossen. Diese Korridore lenken den Warenstrom ohne Umwege von der Küste ins Binnenland und weiter in die Nachbarländer. So sind z.B. Container vom Hafen Walvis Bay bis in die südafrikanische Industrieregion Gauteng nur 48 Stunden unterwegs. De facto erschließen die Walvis Bay Corridors einen großen regionalen Absatzmarkt mit ca. 300 Mio. Menschen.

Für die logistischen Voraussetzungen eines effektiven Güterverkehrs sorgt die im Jahr 2000 ins Leben gerufene Walvis Bay Corridor Group (WBCG), eine Public-Private-Partnership. Die Organisation koordiniert sämtliche Transportwege, vereinheitlicht die Tarife und garantiert notwendige Beförderungskapazitäten. In der WBCG arbeiten Hafenbehörde, Regierungsstellen, Speditionen, Eisenbahn und Gewerkschaften Hand in Hand. Lieferanten und Empfänger verfügen damit in allen Fragen über eine zentrale Anlaufstelle. Derzeit wird der Hafen Walvis Bay um weitere Liegeplätze und ein neues Container-Terminal erweitert. Die Umschlag-Kapazität wird dadurch auf 1,1 Mio. TEU steigen. Die Hafenfläche wird um 40 Hektar vergrößert, das Hafenbecken auf 14,4 Meter vertieft. Bei allen Erfolgen, Namibia möchte weitere Infrastruktur-Projekte realisieren: Investoren sind dabei herzlich willkommen.

Namibia_Logistik

Landwirtschaft

Früchte des Erfolgs ernten
Die Landwirtschaft ist exportorientiert und beschäftigt noch immer die meisten Menschen in Namibia. Die Viehzucht dominiert: Fleisch, Milchprodukte, Häute und Felle von Rindern, Schafen und Ziegen stehen im Fokus. Der Anbau von Obst und Gemüse gewinnt weiter an Bedeutung. Voraussetzung für zusätzliche Anbauflächen ist eine konstante, künstliche Bewässerung. Daher hat die Regierung 2003 die Initiative „Green Scheme“ gestartet. Sie schafft die Basis, um weitere 27.000 Hektar Fläche in hochwertige landwirtschaftliche Anbauflächen zu verwandeln.

Ertragreiche, lokale Wertschöpfung in der Landwirtschaft ist die Basis für die Versorgung der heimischen Bevölkerung und profitable Exporte. Daher möchte der Staat Investoren mit entsprechenden Partnerschaften und Joint Ventures sowie verstärktem Wissens- und Technologietransfer zu intensivem Engagement im Agrarsektor einladen.

Namibia_Landwirtschaft

Industrie

Mit produktiven Ideen Zukunft formen
Namibia ist eines der rohstoffreichsten Länder in Afrika mit reichhaltigen Vorkommen an strategischen Rohstoffen und Mineralien. Ziel ist es, diese Rohstoffe weitestgehend vor Ort zu verarbeiten, um die lokale Wertschöpfung zu erhöhen. Zur industriellen Weiterverarbeitung eignen sich neben Mineralien unter anderem auch Fisch sowie landwirtschaftliche Erzeugnisse und indigene Pflanzen, die in der Nahrungsmittel- und Kosmetikindustrie benötigt werden. Namibia treibt zudem den Aufbau einer zukunftsfähigen verarbeitenden Industrie voran. Derzeit wird eine ganz neue Bandbreite erschlossen, darunter die Metallverarbeitung, der Maschinenbau und die Zementherstellung. Die Regierung unterstützt die wirtschaftliche Diversifikation mit zahlreichen steuerlichen und finanziellen Anreizen. Diese kommen auch ausländischen Unternehmen zugute, die in Namibia Fuß fassen wollen. Für Investoren sind das ideale Startbedingungen.

Namibia_Industrie

Automobilbranche

Namibia – Der neue Produktions-, Test- und Exportstandort in Afrikas führender Automobilregion

Die strategisch günstige Lage direkt an der Atlantikküste, die stabilen Rahmenbedingungen und eine ausgezeichnete Infrastruktur haben Namibia in den Fokus der Automobilbranche gerückt. Immer mehr Investoren erkennen das große Potential, das Namibia inmitten Afrikas führender Automobilregion bietet. Automobilhersteller finden hier optimale Bedingungen nicht nur für Fahrzeugtests, sondern auch für zukünftige Produktions- und Exportstandorte.

1. Regionales Netzwerk von über 20 OEMs und mehr als 360 Zulieferern

Die Region nimmt innerhalb des Kontinents eine mit Abstand führende Position als Standort und Markt für die Automobilindustrie ein. Sie haben Zugang zu ca. 20 OEMs sowie zu über 360 Zulieferern und spezialisierten Dienstleistern. Die expandierende namibische Zuliefererindustrie produziert u. a. Metall-komponenten und Off-Road‐Zubehör und beliefert sowohl europäische OEMs als auch die stark wachsenden regionalen Märkte.

2. Maßgeschneiderte Produktionsflächen für die Automobilindustrie

Für Automobilunternehmen existiert in Namibia ein großes Angebot an geeigneten Produktionsstandorten, die flexibel an die kundenspezifischen Anforderungen angepasst werden können. Ein Beispiel dafür ist der im Bau befindliche !Nara Namib Industriepark, strategisch günstig gelegen in unmittelbarer Nähe des Walvis Bay‐Hafens.

3. Optimale Bedingungen für Fahrzeugtests

Namibia gehört seit vielen Jahren zur Topliga für Fahrzeugtests. Für viele namhafte deutsche und internationale Autohersteller führt der Weg zur Serienreife über namibische Straßen. Die extreme Hitze, staubige Trockenheit und intensive Sonneneinstrahlung bieten ideale Bedingungen für Erprobungsfahrten der “Erlkönige”. Unbemerkt von der Öffentlichkeit – und den Objektiven neugieriger Journalisten – können in kürzester Zeit viele wichtige Testkilometer absolviert werden. Neben den gut ausgebauten Straßen sind es vor allem auch die anspruchsvollen Schotterpisten, die die Autotester anziehen.

Für weitere Informationen (Präsentation) klicken Sie bitte > hier <
Für weitere Informationen (Flyer) klicken Sie bitte > hier <

 

automobilbranche